We want to explain you in this article the different places where Spanish is spoken, besides Spain and Latin America. There are four important countries where Spanish is used as a primary language or as a second official language.

The United States is on the top on the list of other countries where Spanish is spoken, although it is an official language in only one state (New Mexico). Well over 20 million U.S. residents have Spanish as a primary language, although most are bilingual. You'll find plenty of Spanish speakers with Mexican heritage along the southern U.S. border and in many agricultural areas throughout the country, those of Cuban heritage in Florida, and those of Puerto Rican heritage in New York City, just to name a few. Miami has the largest number of Spanish speakers in the western hemisphere outside Latin America, but you'll find plenty of communities all over that have high enough a concentration of hispanohablantes to support Spanish-language though the mass media and services.

Next on the list is Equatorial Guinea, the one place in Africa where Spanish remains an official language as a result of Spanish colonialism. Most people there speak indigenous languages rather than Spanish, however. French also is an official language.

There's also Andorra, a small country between Spain and France, where Catalan is the official language, but Spanish and French are widely understood.

Last on the list of countries with a significant Spanish-language influence is the Philippines. Spanish was once an official language, although today there are only a few thousand who use it as their primary language. But the national language, Filipino, has in the vocabulary and phonetic a great influence of the Spanish language.